• Insightful Future
  • Posts
  • How I Made a personal assistant bot in an hour (and how you can too!)

How I Made a personal assistant bot in an hour (and how you can too!)

Robots can 10x our lives... try making a simple one!

Hello Insightful Futurist! Ready to build a bot?

Making assistant robots has never been so easy, and I’ve figured out a great way to do it…

Today, at my company I was tasked with creating a presentation for a bunch of startup founders.

My CEO told me that he often gets a ton of questions afterward and wants to help them in the best way he can, but because of the volume, he can’t.

So I decided to create a custom GPT that would answer the questions for him based on his favorite articles

You can check it out here. (It’s all about validating startup ideas which I found super interesting which I trained the model on from the article Superhuman)

Alright, now how can you make a legendary bot that saves you hours if not days?

Glad you asked…

  1. you first need to make sure you have a Chat

    GPT subscription (which is $20 a month, but the value is crazy so I’d highly recommend it)

  2. Next, you select explore GPTs

    Look on the left

  3. Then you click the create button on the top right:

    Next to the profile picture

  4. Next, you can fill out the fields in the Configure tab. Or you can go and select the Create tab, which is easier so I’d recommend this for beginners

    Configure tab

    Create tab

Now that we’ve covered the basics, I want to show you some of my favorite tips!

  1. Load the guts (notepad —> .txt files)! This way the GPT has a knowledge base to go off of.

    Example of a text / note file

    I put a ton of .txt files in!

  2. Also, make sure to personalize the prompt to refer to the .txt files you want your bot to look at in terms of answering questions like this:

    (I also put my CEOs calendly link in there to help clients)

I hope that gives you a sense of how I make custom GPTs (bots)

If you have any more questions about AI and would like to have a chat about implementing it in your life, here’s my Calendly:

Happy building!